Spreading Sunshine When There Was None

Born and raised in New Jersey with so many friends and family deeply affected by Hurricane Sandy, I felt compelled to help. It was the perfect storm of emotions: Dozens of my friends from grade school/high school were losing power; I couldn’t get a hold of my father, my husband was asked if he wanted to volunteer to go to Long Island (where his Los Angeles Department of Water and Power group was assigned) for a minimum of 2 weeks.

Living in southern California, I had taken the sun and it’s warmth for granted. Growing up I spent every summer ‘down the shore’ in New Jersey. While my amazing memories of playing games on the boardwalk, laying out on the beach and riding in the waves with my friends will hopefully never fade, the shore will never be the same. It was in fact decimated.

As just one example, my friend’s brother, his wife and 5 kids are now living with friends for an unknown amount of time. The water devastated everything in its wake. The kid’s weren’t allowed to have Halloween because of the 6pm mandated curfew. Kid’s toys floated away and their hearts sank, relying on the goodness of others to bring a little bit of normal back to their lives.

One week later they were hit by an early winter storm that brought over 10 inches of a new kind of toy for the kids but loss of power again when they only had it for a couple of days.

This is why I created 4″x4″ 15 layer hand-made paintings (10+2+0+1+2) and donated all proceeds to Sandy relief, for just $30.00+ shipping. Available here on my Etsy page – http://etsy.me/UrsbYk

Here is a look at how the first 9 painting’s layers developed:

Spreading a little sunshine in exchange for a small donation.

About commemoryfineart

I am an artist passionate about helping people share their textured memories on canvas as beautiful decor for their homes, offices and a legacy for their families. Reach me any time to help you get started at 714.305.1915.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

