Mom, Teacher, Mentor: Now and Forever

For teachers everywhere –

On this day and every day I want you to know
I’m grateful for your hard work in helping me to grow
For your constant understanding and for always being there
To tell me I can do it and to show me that you care
– Anonymous student

It’s important to me to put a warm glow of light on people who make a difference in our lives and will leave a lasting impression. Shauna, a follower of my Commemory® Facebook page, is a newlywed; coming up on her 1 year wedding anniversary! She was compelled to recognize and thank her mom for her legacy of teaching, mentoring and problem-solving for her hundreds of kids over the course of her career.

“My mother will always be an inspiration. She works in the school system, and although she is now out of the classroom and in administration, nearing retirement, she has former students from 20+ years ago who still call and visit her.

As she nears retirement, she has mentioned how the school system has changed, and how she fears the student-teacher “relationship” is suffering from neglect.  You see, she loves teaching, but most of all she loves mentoring and motivating young people.

When she retires in a few years, I know she will be missed and her legacy will be something for others to reflect on.  Her legacy is in the hearts of those students and fellow teachers with whom she has interacted with – whether as a mentor or as a peer.   She has a gift for problem-solving, and she wears many hats in order to assist those around her when needed.  She has an amazing gift for inspiring others and helping them realize their potential within the classroom and beyond. And she LOVES what she does for her “kids.”

Happily married 32 years. Taken the day before Shauna’s wedding last year.

If I was to create a painting that evokes the emotion behind her years of committment in teaching and mentoring, I might use the the ‘thank you’ letters her students wrote her and incorporate them into the background. Then I would find symbolism that has special meaning to her and make that the focal point to fill her spirit with the kind of pride she has given so many people in her life.

If you or someone you know should be applauded for their legacy, please share them with me so I can share them to inspire others.

About commemoryfineart

I am an artist passionate about helping people share their textured memories on canvas as beautiful decor for their homes, offices and a legacy for their families. Reach me any time to help you get started at 714.305.1915.
Gallery | This entry was posted in People and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mom, Teacher, Mentor: Now and Forever

  1. Susan Cooper/findingourwaynow.com says:

    How very lovely. You have a good heart and a great gift as an artist. 🙂

Leave a Reply

