What will be your legacy?

This past Christmas I found myself thinking about all the great memories I have with my family. My husband’s parents have been the glue to our gatherings and for that we are very grateful. I am especially thankful for my mother-in-law Patricia. She makes each of us feel very special. Whether it’s making our favorite meals for our birthday or dropping a hand-written note in the mail just to say hello even though she lives just a few miles away (who does that anymore, right?).

One of Patricia’s passions, other than her family, is her love of quilting. She has made so many for her home over the years that I couldn’t pick a favorite one. That is until 3 years ago when she made one just for me and thoughtfully matched the decor in my art studio. I’ll never forget what she said as she described the shift to making one for each of us.  Simply put, she said that some day her hands just won’t work anymore and she wanted to make sure we had one of our own. That reality hit home with me last Christmas when it occurred to me how quilting is her legacy.

I don’t know that this would have even occurred to me if I wasn’t a part of the wedding industry and the importance of photography – I thought wouldn’t it be great for each of us to have portraits taken with Patricia, the family and our quilts so that we could not only have a real memory with her and our beautiful gifts, but also as a way to acknowledge her thoughtfulness and say thank you…

Where the magic happens. See the pillow dated 1907? That was her mom's.

This is Patricia's favorite - the family quilt.

Like an artist's signed canvas...

If I was to create a painting commemorating Pat’s legacy I would take the symbolism of the quilts and the family and evoke the emotion behind how important she is to us. I am actually in the process of creating it and can’t wait to share it with you when it is finished!

Photography | Miss Darcy Photography

You know what will be my legacy, to help other’s share theirs through paintings on canvas.  What will be your legacy – how will you be remembered?

About commemoryfineart

I am an artist passionate about helping people share their textured memories on canvas as beautiful decor for their homes, offices and a legacy for their families. Reach me any time to help you get started at 714.305.1915.
Gallery | This entry was posted in People and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What will be your legacy?

  1. candy says:

    Beautiful photographs! A wonderful way to chronicle her quilts.

  2. Joe C. says:

    Absolutely awesome!

  3. Beautiful story and beautiful quilts ! Thank you so much for sharing this 🙂

Leave a Reply

